Home  : :   About


ACMC's administration displays a clear and passionate commitment to providing the best possible heath care in the communities that we serve. They pursue ACMC's mission, vision and values with the same dedication shared by our staff.

Cindy Firkins Smith, MD

Dr. Smith became the President and CEO of ACMC in January 2016.

She has practiced Dermatology and Dermatologic Surgery at ACMC for 25 years, and is also a Clinical Professor in the University of Minnesota's Department of Dermatology. In 2014 Governor Dayton appointed her to the Blue Ribbon Commission on the University of Minnesota Medical School. She has served as President of the Minnesota Medical Association, Minnesota Dermatological Society and Mid-Minnesota Medical Association. She currently serves as an alternate delegate to the American Medical Association. Dr. Smith is a tireless patient advocate and has worked for many years on health and safety issues. In 2014 she led the Minnesota Dermatological Society's legislative efforts that resulted in Minnesota's law banning tanning booth access for children under age 18.

She earned her bachelor's degree from Mankato State University, and earned her medical degree from the University of Minnesota. She completed her transitional internship with Hennepin County Medical Center and her dermatology residency with the University of Minnesota.

Chief Medical Officer
Debra G. Peterson, MD

Dr. Peterson became Chief Medical Officer for ACMC in April 2016. She works closely with our physicians in managing their practice to help ensure the delivery of high quality accessible healthcare for our patients. Dr. Peterson's role also includes working in an over site capacity with our Medical Directors.

Dr. Peterson is a graduate of Luther College in Decorah, IA. She completed her medical degree from the University of Minnesota Medical School and her residency in Family Medicine at the University of South Dakota, Sioux Falls, SD. She has been a Family Medicine physician in Litchfield for more than 28 years, first as part of the Allina Health System, and since 2009 as part of the ACMC team. She served as ACMC's Medical Director for Quality and Patient Safety from 2012-2016.

"I am looking forward to the challenges this leadership role brings," said Dr. Peterson. "We have an exciting future as ACMC continues moving forward during this time of significant change in the healthcare environment."

Medical Director of Patient Relations and Communication
David M. Ross, MD

Dr. Ross became Associate Medical Director of ACMC in January of 2005. As Associate Medical Director, Dr. Ross has worked on a number of projects including drug samples, access systems, physician recruiting, care-improvement and patient concerns. In 2012, Dr. Ross became the Medical Director of Patient Relations and Communication. In this position, he is the physician liaison for Information Systems and social media initiatives at ACMC. Dr. Ross serves on a number of committees and maintains a Board of Director's position with the Affiliated Community Health Foundation (ACHF).

When asked about ACMC's principles, Dr. Ross responded, "ACMC is guided by the principles of best quality, best access, and best coordination of care. By adhering to these principles, we are able to provide the exceptional health care service that defines ACMC."

A graduate of University of Iowa, Dr. Ross earned his medical degree from the University of Iowa School of Medicine. He completed his advanced training in family medicine at Northeast Iowa Family Practice Residency. Dr. Ross joined ACMC-Litchfield as a physician in 2002 and continues his active practice in the specialty of Family Medicine.

Medical Director of Recruitment and Retention
Richard A. Wehseler, MD

As the Medical Director of Recruitment and Retention, Dr. Wehseler is responsible for all physician recruiting at ACMC, including the oversight of two recruiters. He is also responsible for the oversight on all medical student activities within our system. Dr. Wehseler assists in the development of new physician practices and works closely with the entire administrative team and ACMC's Board of Directors on other related issues.

Medical Director of Quality and Innovation
Kathryn M. Duevel, MD

Dr. Duevel is an OB/GYN physician who worked with ACMC in Willmar for more than twenty years before she retired in 2012. She received her medical degree from the University of Minnesota, and also earned a Master of Health Care Delivery Science from Dartmouth College. She was a previous member of the executive board of the American College of OBGYN (MN ACOG) and led Rice Memorial Hospital's OB?Patient Safety Committee. She has also served as a volunteer physician with the Remote Area Medical Women's Health Program in Guyana, South American and African Medical Mission in South Africa. In 2013 she was one of seven board members appointed by Governor Mark Dayton to the MNsure Board to help guide the future of health care in Minnesota.

As the Medical Director of Quality and Innovation, Dr. Duevel focuses on quality including supervising the data to meet the requirements of state and federal agencies and the contracts with health plans. She also works with all of ACMC's sites to help them set and achieve quality and safety goals. She also focuses on innovation and exploring solutions in areas such as patient expectations, collaborative and team models of healthcare delivery, physician and staff well-being and providing a positive work environment.

Steve N. Gerberding

Mr. Gerberding joined ACMC as Administrator in December 2013. He brings more than 25 years health care senior management experience in Minnesota to the position.

He earned his bachelor's degree in business administration and a master's degree in hospital and health care administration from the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis.

Mr. Gerberding recently served as a board member for the Minnesota Medical Group Management Association, and has held previous Board and Committee positions with health care, financial and civic organizations. He is a Fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives and has held healthcare management and consulting positions in Sartell, St. Cloud, Waconia and Minneapolis.